Welcome to the home of the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the AAPM. We are medical physicists located in Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, and Washington, DC. We hold an annual meeting and support our regional trainees with annual Mock Oral Exams and MedPhys Slam Competitions.

Thanks for visiting our website, and please don’t hesitate to email us if you’d like more information about membership, becoming a sponsor, or attending one of our functions!

The MACAAPM Officers consist of an Acting President, President-Elect, Past-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Chapter Representative to the Board. 

2024 Officers

Sarah Scarboro, PhD, DABR
Lark Physics

Sarah Scarboro completed her medical physics training at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas, and has been a clinical therapy physicist at Houston Methodist Hospital and the University of Virginia.  Most recently, she has started Lark Physics, a physics consulting company providing full therapy physics services as well as eye plaque program support and training.  Sarah is a member of the Radiation Dosimetry and Treatment Planning Subcommittee and the Working Group on Brachytherapy Clinical Applications.

Sarah Scarboro, PhD, DABR
Lisa Whitelock, DMP, DABR
Krueger-Gilbert Health Physics

Lisa has been a diagnostic medical physicist with Krueger-Gilbert Health Physics in Maryland since July 2014. She enjoys working as a consultant and volunteering with the AAPM and ABR. She loves teaching and is passionate about physics education, especially with the general public. Her career goals include obtaining a position on Krueger-Gilbert’s senior leadership team and mentoring women in STEM. She is also active on social media through Instagram and Twitter (@lisag_dmp).

Lisa Whitelock, DMP, DABR
Tianjun Ma, PhD, DABR
Virginia Commonwealth University

Tianjun Ma is a therapeutic medical physicist with Virginia Commonwealth University and completed his degree at the University at Buffalo and residency training at Cleveland Clinic. He enjoys learning about new technologies and being around with students. Apart from his routine clinical duties, programming and 3D printing are his primary clinical interests. His research focus is on data science/automation in Radiation Oncology. Professionally, he is actively volunteering in AAPM’s task groups.

Tianjun Ma, PhD, DABR
Fionnbarr O’Grady, PhD, DABR
Inova Schar Cancer Institute

Fionnbarr is a therapeutic medical physicist specializing in proton therapy at the Inova Schar Cancer Institute in Fairfax Virginia. He started his career in particle physics before transitioning to medical physics in 2015.  After completing his residency training at the University of Pennsylvania in 2019 he relocated to northern Virginia where he has been based since then.  He is passionate about clinical work, research, and education.  His professional ambition is to work to improve the quality of care for patients and to contribute to the broader development of the field of radiation oncology through research and collaboration in professional organizations such as the AAPM.

Fionnbarr O'Grady, PhD, DABR
Sina Mossahebi, PhD, DABR
University of Maryland

Sina Mossahebi is an Associate Professor and Director of Proton Physics Fellowship Program at the University pf Maryland School of Medicine and works at Maryland Proton Treatment Center. He received his Ph.D. degree in Physics/Biophysics from Washington University in St. Louis and did Medical Physics residency at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. His research is focused on ionizing radiation dosimetry, proton range verification, dual energy computed tomography (DECT), and Flash therapy.

Board Representative
David Schlesinger, PhD, DABMP, DABR
University of Virginia (UVA)

David Schlesinger is currently an Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology and Neurological Surgery at the University of Virginia (UVA) where his clinical duties include serving as the chief medical physicist and radiation safety officer for the UVA Gamma Knife Center. He attended Georgia Tech as an undergraduate, and earned an MS and PhD in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Virginia. Dr. Schlesinger has previously served as Secretary/Treasurer with the MAC AAPM in 2011-2012, and has contributed to the AAPM as summer school faculty, annual meeting therapy education track chair, several task groups, and a frequent annual meeting speaker. He is honored to have been selected as an AAPM Fellow in 2020.

David Schlesinger, PhD, DABMP, DABR

To nominate someone for a future office, please fill out this form:

Hall of Fame

Coolidge Award Winners
2017Jatinder Palta
1995Robert Loevinger
Award of Achievement in Medical Physics
2013Caridad Borrás
2009James A. Deye
2006Azam Niroomand-Rad

Chapter Fellows

2020David J. Schlesinger, PhD, FAAPM
2013Todd R. McNutt, PhD, FAAPM
2013Karl L. Prado, PhD, FAAPM, FACR
2007Mahadevappa Mahesh, PhD, MS, FAAPM, FACR, FSCCT, FACMP
2004Caridad Borras, DSc, FAAPM, FIUPESM, FACR, FIOMP, FHPS
2004John W. Wong, PhD, FAAPM
2002Cedric X. Yu, DSc, FAAPM
1996Jatinder R. Palta, PhD, FAAPM, FASTRO, FACR

See a mistake or omission?